July 13, 2021

NUHS partners with Aurora University to offer Advanced Scholars Program to students

NUHS partners with Aurora University to offer Advanced Scholars Program to students.

For Immediate Release

June 22, 2021


Elizabeth Toth

[email protected]

LOMBARD, Ill. -- National University of Health Sciences (NUHS) has partnered with Aurora University to allow students to complete both undergraduate and doctor of chiropractic (DC) degrees in less time.

The Advanced Scholars Program is a joint recruitment and dual admission effort that creates coordinated curriculum specifically for exceptional students who maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher at Aurora University. As an Advanced Scholar, students will have a chance to finish both undergraduate and doctor of chiropractic degrees in as little as 6.5 years compared to 8 years.

“In the past, NUHS has enrolled many Aurora University students who have done very well in the Doctor of Chiropractic Medicine Program,” said NUHS President Joseph Stiefel, MS, EdD, DC. “The Advanced Scholars Program is a great way for those motivated students to get the most out of their time in school and reduce the cost of their educational investment. Graduating earlier also allows students to embark on their career sooner.”

As part of the pre-chiropractic program at Aurora University, qualified students will complete three years of undergraduate study or a minimum of 90 semester credits leading toward their bachelor of science in health science degree. Students with a 3.0 GPA or higher will then start the DC program at NUHS. After successful completion of all coursework in the first three trimesters at NUHS, they will be granted their bachelor degree from Aurora University.

Aurora University has a longstanding tradition and strong foundation in the helping and healing professions, including preparing students for advanced study in the medical professions.

“Our track record has allowed many students to be successful at National University already,” said Sarah Radtke, Dean of the School of Health Science at Aurora University. “This partnership solidifies our combined mission to develop well-rounded health care practitioners who lead with compassion, integrity, and inclusivity."

NUHS has created similar Advanced Scholars Programs with St. Petersburg College, Ball State University, Elmhurst College and South Dakota State University. Collaboration agreements with other area schools are also in progress.

For more information or to apply to the Advanced Scholars Program at Aurora University and NUHS contact 1-800-826-6285 or visit nuhs.edu.

National University of Health Sciences, a not-for-profit educational institution with locations in Illinois and Florida, was founded in 1906. National University sets the standard in training for careers in health care, offering graduate degrees in chiropractic medicine, naturopathic medicine, acupuncture and oriental medicine as well as undergraduate degrees in massage therapy and biomedical sciences. A historic leader in evidence-based health care, National University publishes three medically indexed scientific journals. National University also provides whole health patient-centered care in its five integrative medical clinics. More information about NUHS can be found at www.nuhs.edu.

Aurora University is a four-year, private, nonprofit, accredited higher education institution offering students an excellent education while maintaining one of the lowest private school tuition rates in Illinois. We were founded in 1893 in Mendota, Illinois, as a seminary college, before moving to Aurora in 1912. More information about AU can be found at www.aurora.edu.

# # #

Categorized Under