Book Reviews

Book Review: Herbal ABC’s The Foundation of Herbal Medicine

by Kaycie Rosen Grigel, ND
09-05-2018 
Sharol Tilgner’s latest book on herbal medicine is a well-written, concise guide to the practice of herbal medicine using a novel organ system–based approach.

Book Review: Outside the Box Cancer Therapies

by Eric Marsden, ND
07-05-2018 
A new publication by two naturopathic oncology experts provides quality, comprehensive information on integrative cancer therapies. Directed to patients, caregivers, and healthcare professionals, it reveals the possibilities and potential benefits of incorporating holistic therapies into cancer care plans.

Herbal Formulations for Health Professionals

by Tina Kaczor, ND, FABNO
04-04-2018 
Our editor-in-chief reviews the first volume of a book written by a highly esteemed former professor. The book's holistic, individualized, and practical content make it a handy reference; readers will be eager to move on to the second volume.

SIBO Family Favorites and SIBO Summer Cookbook

by Michael Traub, ND, DHANP, FABNO
09-06-2017 
Deciding what to make for dinner is hard enough for those with no digestive issues, but for those with small intestinal bacterial overgrowth (SIBO) the decision is particularly stressful. A review of 2 cookbooks for SIBO sufferers offers healthy, delicious answers to the perennial question: What’s for dinner?

Book Review: Nutritional Medicine, 2nd Edition

by Jacob Schor, ND, FABNO
07-05-2017 
In the latest edition of his classic reference, Nutritional Medicine, Gaby has managed to summarize everything he knows about nutritional medicine (and probably a few things he has forgotten) and put it all into a logical order in book form. Having it in your library is like having a private hotline to Dr Gaby, being able to ask, “What would you do?”

Enteroimmunology: A Guide to Prevention and Treatment of Chronic Disease, by Charles Lewis, MD, MPH

by Teresa Silliman, ND
09-18-2014 
An incisive review of the book Enteroimmunology: A Guide to Prevention and Treatment of Chronic Disease, by Charles Lewis, MD, MPH.

How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine

by Bill Walter, ND
09-03-2014 
First published in 1996, this book aims to help students easily understand key concepts in evidence-based medicine and explain the logic and methodology of this approach. This year marks the publication of the fifth edition of the book, which has become a core textbook in medical schools around the world.

Book Review: Chocolate as Medicine

by Jacob Schor, ND, FABNO
02-01-2013 
We have reached the end of an anomalous period of history in which some distortion of the time space continuum appears to have turned things upside down, inside out, and backwards. We grew up and lived in a peculiar reality, during which chocolate was viewed negatively. For a good part of our lives, people have had a peculiar notion that chocolate was bad for you and either avoided eating it or felt guilty when they did.

What Went Wrong: The Truth Behind the Clinical Trial of the Enzyme Treatment of Cancer

by Greg Nigh, ND, LAc
09-01-2012 
A rigorously and meticulously documented crime shares with an autopsy at least two qualities. The first is that the important story is revealed in the details. The second is that, if it carries on for too long, the subject runs the risk of becoming somewhat stale.

Botanical Medicine for Women's Health

by Jennifer Ito, ND
08-01-2012 
When I receive an advertisement for a conference claiming to feature the “world’s leading experts in complementary and alternative medicine,” the first thing I do is check to see how many NDs are on the speaker list. Early in my studies, a dearth of NDs felt like a blow to my professional esteem. Now, more than a decade later, I know better: It means a high probability that the organizers are neither knowledgeable nor serious about integrative medicine and are simply hoping to profit from the popularity of natural therapies.

Book Review: Clinical Naturopathic Medicine

by Lise Alschuler, ND, FABNO
02-01-2012 
I have to admit that when I hefted Clinical Naturopathic Medicine by Leah Hechtman, ND, out of its delivery box, my first thoughts were along the lines of, “Whoa. This is a big book.” I know, not exactly my best example of penetrating insight. The book impresses with its 1,596 textbook-sized pages, and despite being bound in soft cover with a soothing and very natural picture of ginkgo leaves on the front cover, it is heavy and, frankly, rather commanding. However, its imposing girth gives way immediately to a genuinely delightful engrossment upon opening the book.

How to Click With People by Rick Kirschner, ND

by James Prego, ND
10-01-2011 
Some people have charisma. People are drawn to them, listen to them, like them, and follow them. Naturopath Rick Kirschner, ND, is one of those people. In his recent How to Click With People (Hyperion, 2011), Kirschner endeavors to share this gift with the rest of us. What we often find difficult is convincing the patient to follow any of our instructions. Compliance with a naturopathic treatment plan requires far more buy-in from the patient than they may have ever expended when seeing other primary care providers.

"Healing Spices: How to Use 50 Everyday and Exotic Spices to Boost Health and Beat Disease"

by Jacob Schor, ND, FABNO
07-01-2011 
This book is a treasure. No one in naturopathic practice should be without it. So much of our practice has been reduced to telling our patients what not to eat. We should instead, for many patients, be actively instructing them in what to eat. Perhaps the most benefit may not come from shifting carbohydrate, fat, and protein ratios, but from getting them to spice up what they are already eating.

Book Review: Second Edition of "Natural Approach to Gastroenterology" by Eric Yarnell, ND

by Jennifer Ito, ND
06-01-2011 
The newly released second edition, now titled Natural Approach to Gastroenterology, by Eric Yarnell, ND, is a major step forward not only to naturopathic education, but to the field of gastroenterology and the healthcare profession as a whole. Yarnell's book has been marketed as a resource for both the student and the busy clinician, though it is, first and foremost, a textbook, this review will focus on it's clinical utility.In addition to the material of obvious clinical utility, there is also much in this text impractical for daily clinical practice but illustrative for students.

Book Review: Amy Rothenberg's New Collection of Essays

by Jacob Schor, ND, FABNO
03-01-2011 
Back in 1991 when Amy Rothenberg's husband Paul Herscu first book was published, it came as a shock. Rothenberg and Herscu had only graduated National College of Natural Medicine in 1986. With barely four years of clinical experience they had produced a volume, The Homeopathic Treatment of Children, that quickly become a foundation text for all of us. Even now, after 20 years in practice, I still read it regularly and marvel at the depth of the their knowledge.

Book Review: Nutritional Medicine Textbook, by Alan R. Gaby, MD

by Tina Kaczor, ND, FABNO
02-01-2011 
When Alan Gaby's Nutritional Medicine textbook arrived in the mail, my first thought was, "This book weighs a lot." I walked over and placed it on the office scale. It weighs in at just over 8 pounds, 6 ounces. "Dr. Gaby birthed a textbook," I thought to myself. As I read the textbook, I realized that the analogy of birth was not far from the truth.